On a night made for racing, Sikeston, Mo.’s Daniel Pharris edged Shane Stack at the line for the victory in the VP Racing Fuels LDR class at Anarchy at the Arch V. The fifth year of the Premier Street Car Series’ brand of small-tire racing at Gateway Motorsports Park saw incredible racing all weekend, including Pharris’ 4137-second ET at 185.38 mph against Stack’s 4.191 at 181.06 mph. In the Morrow Bros. Ford Radial Vs. The World class, Marty Stinnett raced door-to-door with Jeff Naiser to the stripe, earning the big check with a 3.748-second pass at 201.16 mph over Naiser’s 3.780 at 194.66 mph.
Sharing the bill with PSCA this weekend was the Mid-West Pro Mod Series, bringing a series record 37 cars to Gateway for three days of some of the best Pro Mod racing in the country. In a battle of Missourians, Nixa’s Kevin Maddux beat Raymore’s Jim Sakuvich—3.729 at 197.91 mph to 3.792 at 199.58 mph—in another tight match. In the Slammers Second-Chance race consisting of drivers not making the field and drivers going out in E1 (a field that could have included NHRA/PDRA Pro Mod champion “Tricky” Rickie Smith, who went out in the first round after red lighting; Smith opted not to run the car in the second-chance race), Jim Bell beat out Chad Javes, 3.789 at 201.73 mph over 9.745 at 53.18 mph.
In other racing results:
Mickey Thompson X275
Alan Felts (4.445 at 160.90 mph) over Joseph Oksas (4.918 at 144.29 mph)
Vortech Outlaw 8.5/MX235
Justin Cyrnick (4.584 at 159.68 mph) over Phillip Reichardt (4.694 at 148.44 mph)
Calvert 6.0 Index
Bob Copeland (6.021 at 116.39 mph) over Kevin Prior (6.027 at 128.64 mph)
MagnaFuel 7.0 Index
Jason Mallinckrodt (7.081 at 93.07 mph) over Jesse Sherpell (7.043 at 97.01 mph)
Jr. Dragster 6-12
Lilly Kinne (8.954 at 74.63 mph) over Sarah Stewart (8.920 at 72.78 mph)
Jr. Dragster 13+
Bailey Whittaker (7.937 at 81.42 mph) over Bryce Micke (8.025 at 82.58 mph)