400 Thunder has unveiled a six round Top Fuel championship series for the 2018-19 season starting with the East Coast Thunder meeting at Sydney Dragway, November 2-3 and closing with the 52nd annual Winternationals at Willowbank Raceway, Queensland, June 6-9.

Following the season opener Willowbank Raceway will host the New Year Thunder meeting, January 5. The series then travels south to Sydney Dragway for the Summer Thunder round, Jan19.

After a three-month break racing returns to Willowbank for the Santos Super Thunder meeting, April 19, then heads to the penultimate round of the season, the Gulf Western Nitro Thunder meet at Sydney Dragway, May 4.

Notable absentees from the calendar are Calder Park Raceway, Melbourne, the spiritual home of drag racing in Australian, Adelaide International Raceway in South Australia along with the Perth Motorplex, Western Australia.

First round and the Winternationals are the only times all six Pro classes - Top Fuel, Pro Slammer, Pro Alcohol, Pro Stock, Top Bike and Pro Bike - race at the same meeting.

All rounds will be one-day all in events except the East Coast Thunder meet and Winternationals that will continue to run the traditional ladder elimination format.

“While we are still looking at other opportunities for extra rounds, it’s important that racers and fans can plan for the upcoming season,” according to Australian Professional Drag Racing President Tony Wedlock. “We didn’t want to delay releasing the calendar. The 400 Thunder Professional Series experienced record performances and very strong growth in spectator numbers last year and we expect this to continue across the coming season.”