In the final results from Brainerd International Raceway and the Thunder at the Lakes Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series it was Kendra Larson and Jeremiah Vandeventer leading the list of winners that took home the hardware and bragging rights.
Larson, of Starbuck, Minn., lined up against Todd Bruce, Horace, N.D., in the final of the Fineline Madcap Top Dragster with Larson taking the early lead and holding off Bruce with a lap of 7.486 seconds at 179.49 mph in his ‘07 dragster.  Bruce was right behind but crossed the line second at 7.665, 169.15.

Vandeventer pulled one out over Michael Freischel in the Jerry Haas Top Sportsman as Freischel, Cottage Grove, Minn., took a huge lead off the line but gave it all back to Vandeventer, Hastings, Neb., who posted an 8.818 at 182.11 to beat Freischel’s 7.518, 177.86.
Reigning West Central Division Lucas Oil Champion Brett Speer drove his ’87 Camaro to the Super Stock win over Eric Bell and his ’68 Barracuda.  Speer, Pierz, Minn., crossed the line in 10.038 seconds at 124.02 mph to Bell’s loosing but quicker 9.170, 142.42 out of Chandler, Ariz.
Gary Stinnett added a win to his impressive resume and Ben Line took home another NHRA Wally trophy for the home state of Minnesota.  Stinnett and Ed Shaughnessy both left the line together in the Super Comp final and crossed the finish together with Stinnett, Emporia, Kan., taking the win in a double breakout 8.894 to a 8.889.   Line, International Falls, Minn., meet up with Ron Mattson, Cloquet, N.M., in Stock Eliminator.  Line and his ’69 Mustang ran down Mattson and his ’70 Camaro with a 10.515 second, 121.39 mph run to Mattson’s 10.837, 119.73.
Rounding out the Lucas Oil winners were Kevin Dyck, Winnipeg, Manit., in Super Gas; Corey Bentley, Fremont, Neb., in Super Street; and Kyle Lundberg, Isanti, Minn., in Sportsman Motorcycle.
The NHRA Summit Jr. Drag Racing League was also in action this weekend at BIR with Chelsey Mohr leading the charge picking up the win in the Advanced class.  Mohr beat out Chandler Niemeyer of Brainerd, Minn., running 7.873 to an 8.046.  Joseph Lindberg won over Aspen Meagher in Jr. Intermediate and Blake Noysen beat out Eleanor Lindberg in Jr. Novice.
Most of the NHRA West Central Division racers will be back at Brainerd International Raceway this coming weekend when they will meet up with the racers in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, Aug. 17-20.



The following are Monday's final results from the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, West Central Division Thunder at the Lakes at Brainerd International Raceway:
Brett Speer, Pierz, Minn., '87 Camaro, GT/JA, 10.038, 124.02  def. Eric Bell, Chandler, Ariz., '68 Barracuda, GT/EA, 9.170, 142.42.
Ben Line, International Falls, Minn., '69 Mustang, C/SA, 10.515, 121.39 def. Ron Mattson, Cloquet, Minn., '70 Camaro, E/SA, 10.837, 119.73.
Gary Stinnett, Emporia, Kan., '17 Miller, 8.894, 181.18  def. Ed Shaughnessy, Coleraine, Minn., '10 Erickson, 8.889, 154.92.
Kevin Dyck, Winnipeg, Manit., '12 Corvette, 9.913, 163.22  def. Scott Mc Masters, Rose Creek, Minn., '69 Camaro, 9.885, 145.39.
Corey Bentley, Fremont, Neb., '66 Chevy II, 10.939, 145.08  def. Ronnie Luberda, Foley, Minn., '71 Nova, 10.884, 140.31.
Jeremiah Vandeventer, Hastings, Neb., '96 Mustang, 8.818, 182.11  def. Michael Freischel, Cottage Grove, Minn., '01 Pontiac, 7.518, 177.86.
Kendra Larson, Starbuck, Minn., '07 Mullis, 7.486, 179.49  def. Todd Bruce, Horace, N.D., '40 Ford, 7.665, 169.15.
Kyle Lundberg, Isanti, Minn., '12 Hayabusa, 8.598, 147.34  def. Toby Giese, Kandiyohi, Minn., 10.132, 124.67.