Richie Stevens Jr. earned $25,000 for winning a round of eliminations by the narrowest margin of victory in 2006.

Stevens defeated Jim Yates by a .0003-second margin in the first round of Pro Stock eliminations at the O’Reilly NHRA Midwest Nationals in Madison, Ill. in June to become the Motel 6 “Who Got the Light?” season award winner. It was the closest POWERade Series margin of victory recorded since 2003.

“It’s two years in a row I’ve done this (been eligible for the season-long award) and last year I came up a little short,” Stevens said. “I’ve come up against Yates a lot, and a lot of (the finishes) have been within 5. I had no idea who won (that race). The sun was really bright and I couldn’t see the light on the wall. I don’t think he could see it either. I was glad to be on the winning side of it for sure.”

Motel 6 awarded $1,000 to the individual Top Fuel, Funny Car or Pro Stock driver who earned a round win in eliminations by the narrowest margin at each NHRA POWERade Drag Racing Series event in 2006 – and at the end of the year, Stevens’ performance in his Team Mopar Dodge Stratus was the best.

At NHRA POWERade Series events, fans can watch replays of close finishes and other on-the-track action on Motel 6 Vision – big screens that showcase drag racing’s top performances.


Motel 6 ‘Who Got the Light’ $25,000 Season Winners

                        2006    Richie Stevens Jr., Dodge Stratus, Pro Stock, .0003

          2005    Cruz Pedregon, Chevy Monte Carlo, Funny Car, .0010

          2004    Steve Johns, Chevy Cavalier, Pro Stock, .0006

          2003    Scott Geoffrion, Ford Escort, Pro Stock, .0002

          2002    Larry Morgan, Dodge Neon, Pro Stock, .0002

          2001    Jim Yates, Pontiac Grand Am, Pro Stock, .0000