When you know, you know. And now Scott Lang knows what it takes to win a PDRA Pro Boost race.

Lang, during the Redline Oil PDRA Carolina Nationals in Darlington, SC, scored his first win, beating Jason Harris in the final round. 

Joining the first-time winner atop the headlining divisions were Tommy Franklin (Pro Nitrous) and Alan Drinkwater.

Lang’s victory was immediate as Harris went red by .010, and he ran it through with a 4.066-second pass at 142.50 MPH.

“These are the baddest racers on the planet,” Lang said. “Randy Weatherford said that, and that is the truth. You qualify, and the bump spot is .60 something. That’s flying. I’m racing the guys that have been out here for years, and like I said, I have a lot of support, but these are the best guys in the business, period, and I’m just ecstatic that I got the opportunity to do it.”
Lang is racing in his first season of PDRA’s unique Pro Boost division, competing in a proven ride once campaigned by Randy Weatherford. It took him only six tries to become the fourth first-time winner in the division.   
“I want to thank God first and my team: Lee White, Kyle Pettis, Walter McBride, Michael Lane, Robert McClure,” Lang said. “You can’t do this without a good crew. I want to thank Randy Weatherford for giving me a great car and standing behind us. The car was broke. Randy helped fix it last night and tonight. I can’t even tell you how much help they give me. I’m just grateful for that because you can’t do this without a team. This ain’t a one-man show. I know I get the credit, but teamwork makes the dream work. I also want to thank Pro Line, Mark Micke [of M&M Transmission], all my sponsors, AML Motorsports, Keenan Allen, my son, KA13. I can’t tell you how I feel right now.”

Franklin’s win came at the expense of No. 1 qualifier Jay Cox. He was first off of the starting line and never looked back en route to a 3.65, 206.33 for his third win of the season.

“Everybody wants to win, but we’re out here racing for a championship,” Franklin said. “That’s what we want to do. I always say to beat any of these teams out here, you’re doing something, and Halsey is obviously a great team. It’s far from over. We made up a couple of rounds this weekend, and that’s great. But I know they’ll come back swinging for everything else. All we can do is keep trying to turn on win lights, and that’s what we’re focused on. We don’t look at anything else – just try to turn on win lights.”





Momentum is certainly on Drinkwateer’s side as he claimed the Extreme Pro Stock title, beating past series champion and current point leader Chris Powers in the final round. It was his second win in his second consecutive final round, and came on a holeshot, 4.078 to 4.077. 

Making the feat even more impressive was the fact he did it without tuner and teammate Johnny Pluchino, who was at home with wife Monica as they welcomed their first baby.  

“I hate it that our buddies from Long Island couldn’t make it here, but I’m glad we were able to rise to the occasion and really do this for them,” Drinkwater said. “Johnny just had a baby, so I’m glad we were able to put it in the winner’s circle and just represent us as a team, as a whole. We thrashed on the car all weekend. Pat with Ram Clutches helped us out a bunch. Johnny, obviously on the phone, my crew: Kenny, Termite, Preston, David, Mike, my mom and dad. It’s been a hell of a weekend, and it feels good to be in the winner’s circle.”

Brian Clauss also became a first-time winner in M&M Transmission Pro 632. Winners in the other professional classes included past world champions Tommy Franklin in Switzer Dynamics Pro Nitrous and Chris Garner-Jones in Drag 965 Pro Nitrous Motorcycle, as well as Alan Drinkwater in Liberty’s Gears Extreme Pro Stock presented by AED Competition and Derek Mota in Afco Racing Super Street presented by Menscer Motorsports. 
Victories in the sportsman classes went to Jamie Fowler in MagnaFuel Elite Top Sportsman, presented by PAR Racing Engines, Frank Falter IV in Laris Motorsports Insurance Elite Top Dragster, Nick Meloni in MagnaFuel Top Sportsman, presented by Corbin’s RV, and Nick Reavis in Laris Motorsports Insurance Top Dragster. Todd Comer picked up the win in the Edelbrock Bracket Bash presented by COMP Cams. 
Brayden Davis and Wyatt Stanley were victorious in Coolshirt Systems Pro Jr. Dragster, presented by PRP, and Classic Graphix Top Jr. Dragster, presented by PRP, respectively. Davis, the points leader going into the weekend, won on a double breakout in the final round with a 7.895 to Ava Meloni’s 7.893, both on a 7.90 index. It was the fourth win in five races for Davis. Stanley, who was appearing in his second final round of the year, won when Victoria Beaner broke out in the final round with an 8.845 on an 8.90 dial-in, while Stanley ran an 8.998 on an 8.90 dial.